Weather Forecast


HAST trekked through the winter

Jenna Gutterman (left) and Oliver Gergen (right) were named Swimmers of the Meet during the month of February. Photo courtesy of Kate Jenkins

Winter may seem like a long arduous journey towards spring, but the Hastings Area Swim Team (HAST) kept trekking through the winter swim season on a journey towards the Championship meets in March. Their perseverance proved in the pool.

Hastings Area Swim Team traveled to Richfield to swim at the Piranhas Winter Whiteout Meet Feb. 10-11. Forty-one HAST swimmers competed at the meet achieving the following times: A-2, BB-11, B-12 and C-13. Jenna Gutterman was named the Swimmer of the Meet, swimming five-out-of-six best times. Jenna has shown a mass amount of improvement since she has joined the team. Significantly, at the meet, she earned two new B times (400 and 200 individual medley events) and a new C time in the 200 butterfly.

The team attended the Vince Herring Classic on Feb. 16-18 at the Rochester Recreation Center. The team had 24 swimmers compete at this event, teaming up to achieve new times, CH-6 and A-10. Oliver Gergen earned the Swimmer of the Meet title by swimming eight-out-of-nine best times, cutting over 16 seconds. Achieving a new Champ time in the 50 backstroke was a highlight for Oliver.

On Feb. 17, 18 HAST swimmers attended the SHRK Winter Southern Alliance Conference Finals Meet. The Tigershark Swim Club hosted this meet at the Dodge Middle School Pool in Farmington. Swimmers achieved new times in B-6 and C-17. Swimmers who achieved new CHAMP times: Oliver Gergen, Lauren Jenkins, Ashtyn Stewart and Caleb Urban.

New A Times: Kira Aarness, Sydney Fleming, Katie Gjelhaug, Mari Hall, Lauren Jenkins, Ava McNamara, Annika Ries, Lila Salzman and Caleb Urban. New BB times: Clara Birken, Ella Bloomquist, Isabel Green, Tristan Herbst, Charlie Jensen, Natalie Knutson, Sofia Kovalenko, Kaitlin O'Tool and Reese Ptacek.

New B times: Emelia Berg, Megan Bump, Annabelle Ellsworth, Emma Ellsworth, Elise Fritz, Samuel Green, Jenna Gutterman, Tristan Herbst, Elianna Herrera-Carlson, Zeke Hitchcock, Natalie Knutson, Emma McLay, Kaitlin O'Tool, Reese Ptacek and Annika Ries. New C times: Micah Benner, Ella Bloomquist, William Cory, Emma Dehmlow, Candence Dolphy, Emma Ellsworth, Jenna Gutterman, Alyssa Jacobs, Afton LeMay, Reese Ptacek, Lila Salzman, Mary Schalk, Taylor Schmaltz, Isabella Schneider, Alexis Schulist and Garrett Watterson.