Weather Forecast


Primary election is Aug. 9

Four Republicans vying for Congressional spot in general election

On Tuesday, Aug. 9, voters will decide who they want to advance to the general election on Nov. 8.

While there are no local candidates on the primary ballot this year, there will still be a primary election in Hastings.

The primary ballot includes candidates for U.S. Representative District 2 and Minnesota Supreme Court Associate Justice 6. U.S. Representative John Kline, who currently serves Minnesota’s 2nd Congressional District, is not seeking re-election.

Republican candidates for U.S. Representative District 2 are Matthew D. Erickson, Darlene Miller, Jason Lewis and John Howe.

The Democratic-Farmer-Labor candidate for U.S. Representative District 2 is Angie Craig.

Candidates for the Associate Justice seat are Craig Foss, Natalie Hudson (incumbent) and Michelle L. MacDonald.

Polling locations

Polling locations will be open Tuesday, Aug. 9, from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Ward 1, Precinct 1, will vote by mail ballot.

Ward 1, Precinct 2, will vote at City Hall, 101 East Fourth St.

Ward 1, Precinct 3, will vote at Hope Lutheran Church (16898 Michael Ave.)

Ward 2, Precinct 1, will vote at St. John’s Lutheran Church, 202 W. Eighth St.

Ward 2, Precinct 2, will vote at Our Saviour’s Lutheran Church, 400 W. Ninth St.

Ward 3, Precinct 1, will vote at Calvary Christian Church, 907 W. 15th St.

Ward 3, Precinct 2, will vote at United Methodist Church, 615 W. 15th St.

Ward 4, Precinct 1, will vote at St. Philip’s Lutheran Church, 1401 W. 15th St.

Ward 4, Precinct 2, will vote at the Knights of Columbus Hall, 3075 Vermillion St.

Voters who have recently changed their name or address will need to bring proof of ID before getting a ballot. Accepted ID includes an updated driver’s license or an outdated photo ID along with a utility bill with the voter’s name on it, billed within 30 days of the election.

For the first time this year, voters may enter an absentee ballot in person prior to the election to the ballot counter, located at both City Hall and the Dakota County Government Center.

Voter information is also available online at

Local candidates

There are no candidates for Hastings seats appearing on the primary election.

Hastings will have eight candidates for four city council seats on the Nov. 8 ballot. City council candidates are Tony Nelson, Danna Elling Schultz, Joe Balsanek, Trevor Lund, Bryan Alpaugh, Adam Estenson, Tina Folch and Lisa A. Leifeld.