Minnesota Congressional Districts

Minnesota retained its eight congressional districts after the 2020 Census. The 2nd Congressional District saw a significant shift west but will still encompass Hastings.

Minnesota’s special redistricting panel released the state’s new congressional and legislative maps Tuesday that will define the representative districts for the next 10 years.

Hastings residents won’t see any change in their representatives, but the districts the city resides in saw some significant shifts.

Hastings is part of the 2nd Congressional District represented by DFL Rep. Angie Craig which is one of the state’s most politically competitive districts for the 2022 election.

The district previously stretched down to encompass Goodhue and Wabasha Counties, but has now shifted west to include Le Sueur County.

Rep. Craig announced Tuesday that she will seek reelection in the newly-drawn 2nd District.

“While I am, of course, disappointed that the new boundaries do not include all of the cities and towns that I currently represent in Congress, I look forward to being the voice of several new communities across Minnesota,” she said in a press release.

Hasting’s state senate District 54 will be changed to District 41 and stretch further up into Washington County. The district is currently represented by state Rep. Karla Bigham.

The state house district, currently District 54B and soon to be District 41B, will contain all of Hastings and more of Cottage Grove but will no longer include Afton in the new maps.

The district is currently represented by Republican Tony Jurgens whose seat is up for election this November.  

Redistricting occurs every 10 years with the collection of the Census data. States redraw the boundaries of their electoral districts in order to balance shifting population among districts.

In Minnesota, it is typically up to the Legislature to redraw the maps, but because the Legislature and governor were unable to agree on a plan, drawing the maps fell to a five-judge panel appointed by the Minnesota Supreme Court.

Written By


Sophia Voight is a reporter for the Hastings Star Gazette. She is from Oshkosh, WI and graduated from the UW Oshkosh with a bachelor's degree in Multimedia Journalism in 2021. She can be reached with any news tips at svoight@orourkemediagroup.com


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to crichardson@orourkemediagroup.com.

Share your opinion


Join the conversation

Recommended for you