Weather Forecast


Hastings School Board names new officers

Hastings School Board named Scott Gergen chair and Lisa Hedin vice chair. They swapped roles after the two had been vice chair and chair, respectively, for the last two years. File photo.

Hastings School Board elected new officers at its Wednesday meeting, with the chairman and vice-chairman swapping roles.

The board voted Scott Gergen chairman, who was vice-chair in 2017 through 2018, after he was nominated by former Chairman Lisa Hedin. Hedin was voted vice-chair.

Hedin held the top position since 2017, and said she believed change in the board's leadership was necessary for it to function well.

"I have loved serving as chair," she said at the meeting. "It's always challenging to change in tumultuous times, but it's always tumultuous times."

Gergen, an information technology manager, was first elected to the board in 2013. According to board agendas, he served as the board treasurer 2015-2016.

The board's other officers stayed the same. Russ Rohloff, clerk, and Job Becker, treasurer, were re-nominated and confirmed at the meeting. The other non-officer members include Peter Blissenbach, Kelsey Waits and Dave Pemble.

The board also voted to keep pay the same from 2018, at $4,250 for members and $4,750 for chair.

The board's next meeting is Jan. 23 and with its next work session on Feb. 6. Both are at 6 p.m. in the district office boardroom.