Weather Forecast


Three at HHS honored as National Merit Students

Hastings High School National Merit students from left to right: Brian Nielsen, Deanna Small and Claudia Ketcham. On the right is Principal Mike Johnson. Submitted photo

Hastings High School seniors Claudia Ketcham and Brian Nielsen have been named semifinalists and Deanna Small has been named a Commended Student in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program.

About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2017 PSAT. Ketcham, Nielsen and the other semifinalists represent the top-1 percent of U.S. high school seniors. Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,500 National Merit scholarships worth about $31 million.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the U.S. are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although Small will not continue in the 2019 competition for National Merit Scholarships, she and the other Commended Students placed among the top-5 percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2019 competition.

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2019 will be announced beginning in April and concluding in July.

Ketcham, Nielsen and Small will be recognized as National Merit Scholars by Hastings School District Superintendent Tim Collins at the Hastings High School Awards Night on May 20, 2019.