Out on top: Hastings High School Marching Band wins state championship


The Hastings High School Marching Band was named state champions at the Youth in Music Marching Band Championships at U.S. Bank Stadium Saturday, Oct. 14.

The Raiders were named Class A Minnesota state champions out of 10 bands in their class. This is the fourth time that the Raiders have been named class A state champions. They also won in 2012, 2013, 2014.

In addition to winning the championship, they received awards for outstanding winds, outstanding percussion and outstanding color guard in their class.

"The band knew they had to perform really well in such a competitive class," said Emily Chandler, marching band director. "I was so impressed at how they performed on Saturday."

The championship was the final competition in the 2017 season for the Raiders marching band. The season wrapped up with a record of four first place finishes, three outstanding winds awards, five outstanding percussion awards, two outstanding guard awards and four outstanding drum major awards.

This year's production was titled "Frankenstein." It was comprised of four movements: creation, emotion, rejection and destruction. The show followed Victor Frankenstein's classic monster. A large number of props were included in the show, including a large lab with moving gears, a 'monster box' for guard soloist Zack Anderson and ramps with large green lightning bolts.

Percussion director Josh Wahlstrom said that the students showed a ton of energy in the band at the championship and they were very excited to perform.

"It was a great way to end our very successful 2017 season," Wahlstrom said.

The Raiders marching band staff includes Emily Chandler, Thomas Wentzler, Josh Wahlstrom, Eddie Starr, Deryck Lawson, Lindsey Wetterhahn-Baumann, Alice Flom, Dalton Allen, Jacob Daniel, and Jake Bohlken. The music was composed by Gary P. Gilroy, publications with percussion arrangements by Wahlstrom and Mark Diischer, and visual designs by Joel Matuzak. Soloists included Dani Clifford, Ben Wentzler, Cailin Miller and William Patton. The 2017 drum major was Micah Walt.