Voting Booth

The list of candidates for primary elections in Hastings and Dakota County was finalized after the filing period for local offices closed on May 31.

This year in Hastings, there will be elections for two at-large city council seats and mayor. 


Mayor Mary Fasbender is running for re-election unopposed. 

City Council Member At-Large

  • Joe Balsanak 

  • Angie Haus

  • Dean W. Markuson

  • Ian T. Martin

  • Dennis Gerald Peine

  • Dave Pemble

  • Tom Wright

For Dakota County, elections will be held for 12 nonpartisan seats, including the county sheriff and county attorney. In Dakota County District 1 (Hastings’ district), a new soil and water supervisor and a new county commissioner will be named.

County Sheriff

Joe Leko is running unopposed. Leko currently serves as the chief deputy sheriff and has 25 years of experience with the Dakota County Sheriff's Office. Current Dakota County Sheriff Tim Leslie chose not to run for a third term.  

County Attorney

  • Kathy Keena, chief deputy in the Dakota County Attorney’s Office and the acting Dakota County Attorney. Keena has been with the Dakota County Attorney’s Office since 2000.

  • Elizabeth Lamin, assistant Ramsey County attorney with 16 years of experience. Lamin was also considered for the acting Dakota County attorney position alongside Kenna.

  • Matt Little, owner and attorney at Little Law, LLC, two-time former mayor of Lakeville and former state senator for District 58.

  • Jeffrey (Jeff) Sheridan, president and co-managing shareholder of the law firm Sheridan & Dulas, P.A., has 35 years of experience and spent time as a Dakota County public defender

Soil and Water Supervisor District 1

Kevin Chamberlain is running for re-election and also serves as the vice chair of the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District Board. 

County Commissioner District 1

Mike Slavik is running for re-election and has served on the county board since 2013.

The primary election for these seats will take place on August 9, and the general election will be on November 8. The absentee voting period for the primaries begins June 24.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to

Share your opinion


Join the conversation

Recommended for you