Weather Forecast


Winter athletes earned several honors

Several Hastings High School athletes were honored by the Suburban East Conference recently with selections to the All Conference team and the honorable mention team.

Here is information on who earned the big honors.

In Alpine skiing, three boys earned honorable mention status. They are Thomas Goonan, Stephen O’Connor and Hayden Niebur.

For the girls Alpine ski team, Gabriella Sorg, Sara Juelfs, Rosie Pechous, Ellie Peine and Josie Pechous all earned All Conference honors. Shannon O’Connor was named to the All Conference honorable mention team.

In boys basketball, Sam Skoyen earned All Conference honors. Earning honorable mention were Joe Dittrich and Craig Nielsen.

For the girls basketball team, Hanna Norman was named All Conference.

In boys hockey, Mark Huneke earned All Conference honors. Earning honorable mention status were Blake Berg, Matt Flynn, Andy Neuman and Mike Junker.

For the girls hockey team, Sami Claussen, Natalie Simons and Kiki Radke all were named All Conference. Kit Ruedy, Erin Moes, Brook Weber and Anna Williams were named honorable mention.

Zack Benning earned All Conference honors for the Nordic ski team. Will Caturia was honorable mention.

Rachel Peterson earned All Conference honors for the girls Nordic ski team.

In swimming and diving, seven athletes earned All Conference honors. They were Thomas Everson, Hayden Schmitt, Colby Smith, Brandon Underwood, Cole Tipler, Jack VanZee and Vova Tipler. Michael Everson and Jack Weldon earned honorable mention.

Thomas Everson, Schmitt, Smith, Underwood, Tipler and VanZee were all named to the All State team, too.

The wrestling team had several selections to the All Conference team. They were Daryale Harris, Jake Johnson, Tony Lodermeier, Dan Marquette, Luke Rowh, Luis Sanchez, Jake Anderson, Cullin Brendeland, Austin Eichmann and Adam McSorley.

Earning honorable mention were Stuart Mattison and Mark Vaith.

Marquette, Rowh and Eichmann also earned All State status.

In gymnastics, Taylor Engstrom earned honorable mention honors.