Weather Forecast


Wright officially withdraws from City Council race

This time it is official. There are now four candidates for the two Hastings City Council at-large positions – Mark Vaughan,756 votes; Lori Brauks, 551 vote; Joanna Bayers, 349 votes; and Ian Martin, 212 votes.

The previous fourth-place finisher, Tom Wright, 287 votes, officially withdrew from the race Monday. Martin moved up with his vote total.

But at the county level, there is a temporary hold, as one of the challengers, Terry Donnelly for the District 1 Dakota County Commissioner race, has asked for a recount. He placed third.

Wright had filed for the City Council position earlier this summer, but withdrew, according to news releases. His withdrawal came after the official deadline and his name still appeared on the ballot.

The sixth candidate, Blaine Hornbuckle, who also withdrew (although not officially), received 93 votes in the primary election.

For the District 1 Dakota County Commissioner race, Incumbent Mike Slavik of Hastings easily led all three candidates with 1,940 votes. Mark Henry of Farmington had 640 votes and Terry Donnelly, also of Farmington, received 629 votes.

Donnelly now has asked for a recount as the difference in his vote total and Henry's is within the threshold (16 votes) of a recount.

In other primary election results:

Dakota County voters followed the rest of the state in voting.

For governor, it will be DFL incumbent Mark Dayton against Republican Jeff Johnson and Independence Party's Hannah Nicollett.

For United States senator, DFL incumbent Al Franken will be challenged by Republican Mike McFadden and Independence Party's Steve Carlson.

DFL incumbent Auditor Rebecca Otto easily defeated her DFL challenger Matt Entenza and faces Republican Randy Gilbert and Independence Party's Patrick Dean.

Secretary of State candidates are Independence Party's David Singleton, DFL's Steve Simon and Republican Dan Severson.

Incumbent DFL Attorney General Lori Swanson faces Republican Scott Newman and Independence Party's Brendan Borgos.

For Congress 2nd District, the DFL candidate will be Mike Obermueller who defeated challenger Michael Robert. Obermueller faces Republican Rep. John Kline in a repeat race from 2012.

For voters the next date to remember is Sept. 22. That is the beginning date for applications for absentee ballots for the general election.

Statewide, according to the Secretary of State office, 401,892 people voted; there are about 3.1 million registered voters in the state.

In Dakota County, 23,188 people voted. There are about 243,000 registered voters in the county.