Weather Forecast


42 students inducted into National Honor Society

Hastings High School saw 42 students welcomed into the National Honor Society April 1. The induction ceremony marked the beginning of a year of service for the new members.

The National Honor Society is an organization that recognizes students for excellence in scholarship, leadership, service and character. But more than anything, it's a service organization, said Kayla Brown, a senior NHS member and one of this year's officers. Hastings students this year have to do 60 hours of community service projects to maintain their membership.

HHS students host several projects each year. There's a Halloween food drive, where students go door to door in costumes to collect food. Last year, students collected 3,000 pounds of food. To help raise funds for their projects, students hold two bake sales - one in spring and one in the fall. There's a blood drive done in conjunction with the American Red Cross to get students and teachers to donate blood. Last year's drive collected 91 units. The final event of the school year is the Gillette Walk-a-thon, a five-mile walk to raise money for Gillette Children's Hospital. That event is coming up May 5 this year.

Membership in NHS is valuable to the students involved.

"It's one organization that you actually go and help the community," said senior Alex Lewanski, this year's NHS president.

The work NHS students do helps make them more rounded people, said senior and NHS officer Hannah Sieh, and it allows students to give back to a community that has done a lot for them.

"If it wasn't for this, I wouldn't do so much community service, Sieh said.

Officer Haley Kimmen said that NHS is an organization that highlights the good teens can do, and it also gives students who might not excel at sports or music a place to succeed.

The officers encouraged community and business people to contact the NHS if they have opportunities for student service.


Each year, junior students with a GPA of at least 3.7 are invited to apply to NHS. Once they apply, students are reviewed by a faculty council, which selects those who will be members. Once a student becomes a member, he or she is required to do 60 hours of community service and to participate in all the chapter's projects.

Officers for 2013-2014 are Amanda Pass, president; Courtney Ommen; Steven Roach; and Abbigail Gullicks.

New senior members this year are Justin Baker and Alex Iwasko. New junior members are Kaitlyn Anderson, Zachary Benning, Bailey Clothier, Taylor Engstrom, Thomas Everson, Jacob Frandrup, Connor Fultz, Abigail Gullicks, Megan Jahnke, Mercedes Jones, Jordan Juckel, Benjamin Klimek, Samantha Kopf, Kathryn Kopp, Andrew La Belle, Morgan Matz, Gillian McIntosh, Michaela Mills, Kianna Notermann, Kelsey Nygaard, Courtney Ommen, Jacob Otto, Amanda Pass, Rachel Reamer, Matthew Reinisch, Amanda Rico, Karter Rivet, Steven Roach, Jacob Robinson, Maria Rother, Kiersten Ruedy, John Schmitz, Natalie Simons, Kayla Smith, Gabriella Sorg, Rachel Stancer-Prokop, Angela Thomas, Shelby Wassink, Marissa White and Alexander Zuzek.

Current members

There are 50 senior students finishing up their NHS membership this year. Officers are Lewanski, president; Haley Kimmen; Kayla Brown; and Hannah Sieh. Members are Erin Anderson, Cody Arndtson, Hannah Blaha, Megan Braun, Nicole Braun, Taylor Burr, Hanah Carlson, Kayla Chapman, Norma Jean Christ, Becky Church, Ellie Clark, Courtney Forschen, Haley Fox, Brooke Francis, Elizabeth Hardy, Erika Haviland, Ashley Hedlund, Cassie Hillstead, Nicole Hollar, Sarah Hughes, Ian Johnson, Kaylynn Johnson, Caitlyn Judge, Molly Kampa, Treya Kragenbring, Ali Kromer, Michaela Larson, Logan Leifeld, Sara Leifeld, Connor Loch, Scott Matecki, Keegan McIntosh, Cassie McNamara, Alex Melecio, Allie Nolan, Joby Nolan, Marissa Nolan, Angie Norwig, Amanda Roche, Anna Sacchetti, Ashley Stoffel, Nate Strauss, Lauren Thomas, Danielle Weiler, Abbie Williams and Sarah Zeien.