Weather Forecast


Campus and people notes for the week ending May 11

Haviland will graduate from the U of M

Stephen Haviland, a 2006 graduate of Hastings High School , will graduate from the University of Minnesota in the spring of 2012, with a summa cum laude degree in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics from the College of Science and Engineering. Haviland has also been awarded a Presidential Fellowship from Georgia institute of Technology, where he will do his graduate work. He will be interning with the Department of Defense this summer, and he has interned with NASA in the past.

Nichols inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma at UW-River Falls

Sara Nichols of Hastings was inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls College of Business and Economics annual awards program on April 23. Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International.

Doffing graduates from Minnesota-Moorhead

Callie Doffing of Hampton will graduate on Friday, May 11, from Minnesota State University-Moorhead. Doffing will receive a Bachelor of Science degree. She majored in exercise science.

Piano students present recital

The students of Janice Larsen presented a spring piano recital, "Heart to Hands," May 7 at the First Presbyterian Church. The recital consisted of solo and ensemble music.

The following students participated: Kalli Dunn, Samantha Dabruzzi, Grant Hollar, Lilly Anderson, Christian Hedin, Blake Zak, Jack Dunn, Sara Lund, Mariah Wallace, Annika Peterson, Kristin Peterson, Matt Cater, Aleaha Zabel, Olivia Wolf, Nicole Hollar and Jolene Zabel. Kristin Peterson and Jolene Zabel received their Senior Piano Award for 11 years of lessons.

Klein is Auxilarian of Year

The Regina Medical Center Auxiliary held its spring luncheon May 5 at the Hastings Country Club. Past-president Judy Klein was awarded the Auxiliarian of the Year for 2011 by President Fran Schneider. Klein has been a member for seven years and has served in many capacities and was recognized as being a positive example to the organization.

Other members were honored for their years of service. Twenty three members were recognized for five, 10, 15 and 20 years of service. Receiving special recognition were 30-year members: Margaret Flower, Kathy Horsch, Darlene Myers and Janice Weber. Those receiving certificates of 35 years were Pam Andrews, Mary Jane Poepl, and Marge Trautmann. Forty-year certificates were given to Millie Davidson, Lorraine Johnson and Angie Thyen. Also honored was Betty Collins for 50 years of volunteer service.

Jan's 'Pre-Comp Clogging' takes Judge's Choice

Jan's School of Dance "Pre-Comp Cloggers" were named the Judge's Choice winners at the recent Hall of Fame Dance competition.

This was the second show of the season for this group and the dancers were less than one point away from taking the High Gold Award. They were also awarded "Judge's Choice" out of all the other groups in their category. This was chosen based on their energy, smiles and enthusiasm while performing. This is the first year of competition for most of the dancers on this line, and this award was a major accomplishment for the dancers. The girls will go on to compete at a national meet at Wisconsin Dells from June 15-17.