Weather Forecast


Voters head to polls on Tuesday

The seemingly-endless television commercials, mailings and door knocking by candidates will end soon.

The 2010 general election will be held from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 2. Voters across Minnesota will elect a new governor and cast ballots for other state officials and their choices for Minnesota House of Representatives and a third of the State Senate. They will also vote for their choice for Congress.

At the Hastings city level, the campaign has been a very quiet one as incumbent Mayor Paul Hicks and at-large city Council members Barb Hollenbeck and Mike Slavik are running unopposed in their bids for re-election to four-year terms.

Information about polling places, absentee voting and registration is published on Page 11A in the Oct. 28 print issue of the Hastings Star Gazette.

In the area

Mitch Scott, Apple Valley Police sergeant, is challenging Dave Bellows, Lakeville, incumbent Dakota County sheriff.

Dakota County Attorney James Backstrom is unopposed in his bid for re-election.

The judge's race drawing the most attention is between incumbent Timothy Blakely and challenger Larry Clark, assistant Dakota County attorney.

Other judges in the First District running unopposed are Thomas Poch, Michael Baxter, Timothy McManus, Martha Simonett, Rex Stacey, Philip Kanning, Richard Spicer, Patrice Sutherland, Caroline Lennon, Kevin Mark, Janet Cain, Jerome Abrams and Tim Wermager.

Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District candidates are Thomas Willenbring, Diane Blake, Scott Holm and John Ross, district 1; Jason Swenson, Doug Tipka, Dan Kuykendall and Anthony Nelson, district 2; and Kevin Chamberlain, district 3.

Candidates for offices in cities around Hastings are:

Coates: Mayor Jack Gores is running unopposed, as is city council member Jim Horsch.

Hampton: Voters will be asked to choose two city council members from three candidates: Jennifer Budrow, Ron Endres and Kristina Waltman;

Miesville: Mayor Eugene Stoffel is running unopposed. Three candidates are vying for two city council positions. They are Cory Friesen, Keith Friesen and Jesse Wiederholt.

New Trier: Mayor Alan Fliegel is running unopposed. Dorene Geurts and Jeavonna Sutherland are running for two council seats and Debbie Chavis is running in the special city council race.

Vermillion: Paul Simonsen and Gladys Walus are running for two city council seats. Mayor Brian Mann is running unopposed.

State races

The governor race includes seven candidates, three from the major political parties. They are Mark Dayton and Yvonne Solon, Democratic Farmer Labor (DFL) Party; Tom Emmer and Annette Meeks, Republican Party; Tom Horner and James Mulder, Independence Party; Farheen Hakeem and Dan Dittman, Green Party; Linda Eno and Howard Hanson, The Resource Party; Chris Wright and Edwin Engelmann, Grassroots Party; and Ken Pentel and Erin Wallace, Ecology Democracy Party.

Incumbent Secretary of State Mark Ritchie, DFL; is being challenged by Dan Severson, Republican; and Juel Carlson, Independence.

Incumbent auditor Rebecca Otto, DFL; is being challenged by Patricia (Pat) Anderson, Republican; and Kenny Kalligher, Independence.

Attorney General Lori Swanson, DFL, faces challenges from Bill Dahn, Independence Party; Chris Barden, Republican; and David Hoch, The Resource Party.

Candidates for Minnesota State Senate District 57 are Katie Sieben, Cottage Grove, incumbent, DFL; and Karin Housley, Afton, Republican.

Candidates for Minnesota House of Representatives District 57B are Denny McNamara, incumbent, Republican; and David Page, DFL. Both are Hastings residents.