Weather Forecast


Get ready - election filing period opens Tuesday, May 18

Many of the incumbent office holders have already announced they are seeking re-election this year.

Now, they can put their pens to the papers - actually Affidavits of Candidacy - starting Tuesday, May 18, and continuing to 5 p.m. Tuesday, June 1.

This year's filing period is more than a month earlier than usual due to changes in the state's election law. The changes include moving the state's primary election to Tuesday, Aug. 10.

City of Hastings

The seat for mayor and two at-large City Council positions will be on the ballot. Incumbent Mayor Paul Hicks, who announced his candidacy for re-election two weeks ago, and at-large City Council members Barb Hollenbeck and Mike Slavik have indicated they will file again.

Residents must meet the following requirements to be eligible for office: They must be eligible voters; they will be at least 21 years old when assuming office; they will have been residents of the city of Hastings for at least 30 days before the general election; and each must be a resident of the ward for which he/she is filing.

Candidates must file between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday at Hastings City Hall, 101 E. Fourth St.

There is a $5 filing fee for city offices. Notaries are available at City Hall.

Dakota County

In Dakota County, the seats for Commissioner districts 2, 4 and 6; sheriff and county attorney are on the ballot. Incumbent commissioners for those positions are Kathleen Gaylord, South St. Paul; Nancy Schouweiler, Inver Grove Heights; and Paul Krause, Lakeville, respectively. Commissioner Joe Harris' term (District 1 - Hastings) expires in 2012.

Dakota County Sheriff Dave Bellows, who was appointed to the position in February after the retirement of Don Gudmundson has indicated he will file for a four-term term. So has Apple Valley Police Sgt. Mitch Scott.

Incumbent Dakota County Attorney James Backstrom has not announced his plans.

Generally, filing requirements include being a citizen of the United States, being an eligible voter, and paying the filing fee.

To file for county offices, candidates must file in the Dakota County Property Taxation and Records office at the Administrative Center in Hastings. The filing fee for county positions is $50.

State offices

All Minnesota House of Representatives and Senate seats are on this year's ballot. In the Hastings area, that includes House District 57B, currently held by Denny McNamara, R-Hastings; and Senate District 57, currently held by Katie Sieben, D-Cottage Grove. Both will have challengers, with Democrat Dave Page, Denmark Township, facing McNamara, and Karin Housely, R-Afton, facing Sieben.

The governor's race will have a primary - at least on the DFL side. Endorsed candidate Margaret Kelliher Anderson is facing challenges from Mark Dayton and Matt Entenza. The endorsed Republican candidate is Rep. Tom Emmer The Independence Party candidate is Tom Horner.

In addition to the governor/lieutenant governor race, other state level races in the election this year are secretary of state, auditor and attorney general. There are also some judges' positions open this fall.

For races that take in more than one county, filing is completed at the Secretary of State's office in St. Paul.


There are no Independent School District 200 board elections this year.