Weather Forecast


Major political parties will caucus Feb. 2

The grassroots effort of Minnesota politics is about to begin with the convening of the election-year caucuses.

At the caucuses, interested people share their ideas, vote on resolutions, conduct straw ballots, and elect delegates to the county conventions.

Minnesota will hold its precinct caucuses at 7 p.m. (Green party meets at 6:30 p.m.) Tuesday, Feb. 2; and the Independence Party will provide all interested Minnesotans the opportunity to participate in an online caucus at 9 p.m.

Caucus locations in the Hastings area for the state's major parties are:

• Republican: Hastings High School, 200 General Sieben Drive, for city of Hastings and Nininger Township; Boeckman Middle School, 800 Denmark Ave., Farmington (old Farmington High School), for Hampton city and township and New Trier; Miesville Fire Hall, 14221 E. 240th St., for Miesville and Douglas Township; Vermillion City Hall, 105 E. Main St., for Vermillion city and township and Coates; Marshan Town Hall, 19497 205th St. E., for Marshan Township; Ravenna Town Hall, 20425 Red Wing Blvd., for Ravenna Township; Cottage Grove Middle School for Denmark Township; and Cannon Falls High School for Welch Township.

• Democratic Farmer Labor Party: Hastings Middle School, 1000 W. 11th St., for city of Hastings, Nininger Township; Black Stallion, Hampton, for city of Hampton and townships of Hampton, Douglas, Vermillion, Marshan, and Ravenna; Denmark Town Hall for Denmark Township.

• Independence Party: Hastings High School for the city of Hastings and townships of Nininger, Hampton, Douglas, Vermillion, Marshan, Ravenna and Denmark. The party will hold its regular caucuses before the online caucus. For those who chose to participate online, visit the Independence Party website (at 9 p.m. Tuesday) at An "enter here" button will be displayed for entry into the caucus and into your county. Videos of candidates will be shown. Comments and ideas can be shared. Straw ballot voting will also be held

• Constitution Party: Burnhaven Library, Burnsville, for Hastings and Vermillion Township; Northfield Community Center for the townships of Nininger, Hampton, Douglas, Marshan and Ravenna; Miracle Centre Church, South St. Paul, for Denmark Township.

• Green Party: The caucus locations will convene at 6:30 p.m. Caucus locations have not been determined. Call 651-288-2820.