Weather Forecast


Elected officials, administrator salaries frozen

The 2010 salaries of Dakota County's elected officials - commissioners, sheriff and attorney - and the administrator, will remain the same as in 2009.

At its regular meeting this week, the Dakota County Board of Commissioners froze the salaries of its seven-member board, Sheriff Don Gudmundson, Attorney James Backstrom, and administrator Brandt Richardson.

Each of the seven commissioners will be paid $64,700 in 2010. Actually, the commissioner salary has remained the same since 2008.

Elected officials and the administrator salaries are reviewed annually. Elected officials' salaries must be established before the end of the year because of laws that do not provide for retroactive compensation.

The 2010 salary levels reflect the County Board policy that all year-end 2009 hourly or annual rates of pay be frozen for 2010, consistent with the 2010 Unclassified Employees Compensation Plan.

The 2010 salaries are as follows:

• commissioner, $64,700;

• attorney, $154,868;

• sheriff, $136,700; and

•administrator, $154.868.