PHOTOS: 'Dr. Dolittle Jr.' at Hastings Middle School


Hastings Middle School Theater Department presented Dr. Dolittle Jr. Nov. 2-3 in the HMS auditorium. The musical is based on the "Dr. Dolittle" stories by Hugh Lofting and the 20th Century Fox Film. The book, music and lyrics are by Leslie Bricusse.

Audiences enjoyed the story of Dr. Dolittle and his search for the giant pink shell snail.

The play was directed by Zach Filkins with musical director Katherine Warren. The technical director was Anne Blessing and the costume assistant was Sara Lawrence.


Dr. John Dolittle, Alex Ussatis

Madeline Mugg, Emma McLay

Tommy Stubbins, Gabe Richardson

General Bellowes, Joe Borash

Emma Fairfax, Hope Davis

Albert Blossom, Walter Jung

Gertie Blossom, Katelynn Krey

Berta, Serenity Swanson

Vladimir, Zach Rosandich

Mavis, Kyra Smallidge

Straight Arrow, Brita Lawrence

Bailiff, Tristan Trimbell

Polynesia the Parrot, Linnea Hedin

Jip the Dog, Brailyn Gintner

Herbert the Hedgehog, Gillian Greeder

Dab-Dab the Duck, Olivia Larsen

Toggle the Horse, Henry Ascheman

Sheila the Fox, Iris Ries

Pushmi-Pullyu the Two-headed llama, Avery Fredericks and Andraya Thorkildson

Rufus the Dog, Max Albertson

Chee-Chee the Monkey, Kaden MacLeish

Sophie the Seal, Bertina Peters

Villagers/Warriors/Circus Folk, Grace Bjorklund, Morgan Buck, John Destross, Lily Doffing, Brody Hampl, Leah Holmes, Gaby Kurtz, Megan Langenfeld, Audrey McNamara, Christian Muchineripi, Maya Norgaard, Maccoy Rice, Millie Rice, Liz Rother, Zi Tubbs

Tech Crew, Trinity Behnke, Marc Garofolo, Will Mace, Xander Miller, Sam Pass, Rhianna Shick, Eliza Tubbs