Weather Forecast


Alongi, Johnson, Moenkedick and Strauman join United Way of Hastings board

The United Way of Hastings (UWH) welcomes Tony Alongi, Joy Johnson, Betsy Moenkedick and Karen Strauman to its Board of Directors.

Alongi has served in many volunteer roles including youth leader, session member, and foundation board president for the First Presbyterian Church. He is a member of the Hastings Prescott Area Arts Council, the Hastings City Council, and is employed by the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development.

Johnson was born and raised in Hastings and has volunteered at Our Saviour's Evangelical Lutheran Church as a music leader and confirmation teacher. She has been a member of the UWH Community Investment (Allocations) Committee and through that experience, learned about the impact of the United Way of Hastings in the community. She works for Nexeo Solutions.

Moenkedick comes to the UWH from Xcel Energy where she has served on the United Way Campaign Committee for three years. She's also a volunteer EMT at Xcel Energy, directs church choir, and provides her musical talents for church services. She has experienced the positive impact of the early childhood reading program via the Imagination Library. Her two young children receive a book each month from the Imagination Library which is offered to children in this community by a partnership with the UWH and the Dolly Parton Foundation.

Strauman recently moved to Hastings and joined Regina Medical Center as the Vice President of Patient Care Services. She has more than 23 years of experience in health care including staff nursing, management and administration. She has held volunteer leadership roles with a variety of organizations such MN Safe Kids, Community Health Advisory Boards for Hennepin, Anoka, and Douglas counties, United Way of the Greater Twin Cities, University of Minnesota Medical Reserve Corp, Anoka City EMS Board, Mercy/Unity Foundation Board, Center Against Sexual and Domestic Abuse, and Douglas County Chamber of Commerce.

"We have a terrific group of individuals joining the UWH Board," said Tara Donohue Weiss, executive director. "Tony, Joy, Betsy, and Karen bring a great deal of volunteer experience as well as strong professional experience to the board of directors. It's evident that they are committed to improving the lives of those in the community."

The UWH is grateful for the leadership and contribution of service of retiring board members: Barb Hollenbeck, Chris Johnston, DDS, and Pat Yates. Current board members include: Mike Biskupski, John Callahan, Joe Hannah, Kevin Hoeschen, Jodi Husting, Jean Lodermeier, Mike Mohrhauser, Jayme Reinisch, Brian Schommer, Amanda Sykes, and board representative Jeff Schommer. The UWH is an independent United Way that has worked for more than 45 years serving Hastings and the surrounding rural communities within School District 200. Its mission is to build to improve the lives of people in our community. Donations are accepted year-round. For more information about the UWH and the agencies it funds, visit www.united